Croatia 2023: Welcome to the Schengen Area and eurozone

We are proud to announce that as of 1 January 2023 Croatia is a member of the Schengen Area and the eurozone. This means that spending your holidays in Croatia and Valamar has just become easier than ever.

No border checks on borders with Slovenia, Hungary and Italy

Travel with no additional paperwork or waiting times.

Euro – Croatia’s official currency

No more conversion from kuna to euro, and no waiting in line at exchange offices.

A simpler short stay and late check-out

No worrying about getting stuck in traffic at border crossings.

A single visa for 27 countries

Third-country passengers can explore more European countries using a 90-day Schengen visa.

What's new?

Schengen Area

The Schengen Area now includes all European Union member states, except for Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus and Ireland, as well as four countries which are not EU members – Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Road transport

As of 1 January 2023, there are no border checks at the borders which Croatia shares with Slovenia and Hungary.
Conditions for crossing the borders with Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, and Montenegro remain unchanged.
EU citizens are to use special lanes when crossing borders with these countries, and they are usually subject to only minimal checks.

Air transport

From 26 March 2023 there are no border checks for flights within the Schengen Area.
Take advantage of our flight and hotel packages.

Maritime transport

There are no border checks in ports for boats travelling within the Schengen Area.

Payment in euro and kuna to euro exchange possibility

The euro took the kuna’s place and became the official currency in Croatia on 1 January 2023. Payment in kuna is no longer possible. You can still exchange kunas throughout 2023 in Croatian post offices, commercial banks, and the Financial Agency Fina. Until 31 December 2023, you can exchange up to 100 notes and up to 100 coins per transaction without any additional fees.
Conversion rate: 1 EUR = 7.53450 HRK

Schengen visa

Third-country passengers may submit a request for a standard 90-day Schengen visa which enables them to travel across 27 member states without border checks. With a Schengen visa, you can stay in Croatia for up to 90 days. As of 1 January 2023, upon entry of third-country nationals to the Republic of Croatia, the amount of time they spent in the Schengen Area spanning the last 180 days is taken into account.

Special offers

Experience more with our special offers and deals

View all offers

Sign up for special offers

Receive our special offers and discounts directly to your inbox.